Afternoon tea with a touch of style! – Afternoon tea review: The Blue Pelican Cafe, Hamptons, Penarth

One of my favourite places in Penarth is Hamptons, a fantastic shop selling all manner of gorgeous gifts and interior designs. As well as being the place to go for something tasteful and unusual, it’s also the place to go for something tasty – with the Blue Pelican Café upstairs, serving breakfasts, lunches (including Sunday roasts), deliciously tempting cakes and coffees, and even hosting fantastic musical dinner evenings (Mr W and I had a great time watching an Elvis tribute there last year with a five course dinner and Elvis themed cocktails!) So, when I received an email asking me to keep an eye out for a special delivery from Hamptons, I was very excited as I knew I’d be in for a treat.

I wasn’t disappointed! I came home on the appointed day to an uncharacteristically enthusiastic Mr W telling me to come and have a look at what had been delivered for me – a beautifully wrapped and presented (in true Hamptons style!) afternoon tea, complete with a pretty cardboard cake stand!

It won't be wrapped like this in the cafe, but it will be just as stylish!

It won’t be wrapped like this in the cafe, but it will be just as stylish!

Now, Hamptons won’t normally be delivering afternoon tea, but the stylish twist, beautiful presentation, creative approach and personal touch that my special delivery came with is definitely par for the course at Hamptons. This was a great way to launch their new afternoon tea and allow me to enjoy it in the style that I would if I went into the Blue Pelican Café – and as I always say, as a marketer by trade, I’m a big fan of any business that not only gets their product right but also finds innovative ways to promote it!

We sampled a selection of dainty sandwiches on different breads, including a delicious smoked salmon wrap, ham with antipasti on brown and hummus in ciabatta, plus a freshly baked scone with strawberry jam and (proper!) clotted cream and a selection of beautiful, dainty cakes, including a mini Victoria sponge, a chocolate brownie and a fresh cream éclair.

Sandwich selection

Sandwich selection

Mmm, cake!

Mmm, cake!

Hamptons’ afternoon tea is available from 3 p.m. at £10.99 per person and includes tea from a selection of different blends. You can upgrade to a glass of fizz or a cocktail if you really want to treat yourself. They recommend booking, as the mini cakes and pastries are made to order (and it would be very disappointing if they’d run out!)

I’m not aware of anywhere else in Penarth that serves a ‘proper’ afternoon tea since the closure of the Washington Gallery café, so I think Hamptons will be extremely popular, especially with such delicious goodies on offer and such lovely surroundings into the bargain. A browse around Hamptons is a must for any shopping trip in Penarth and being able to top it off with afternoon tea is a lovely new addition to the experience.

The Blue Pelican Café, Hamptons, 10 Ludlow Lane, Penarth CF64 1EA

http://www.hamptons-design.co.uk

Thank you to Hamptons for my special delivery of afternoon tea, which was complementary.

3 responses to “Afternoon tea with a touch of style! – Afternoon tea review: The Blue Pelican Cafe, Hamptons, Penarth

  1. Those do look gorgeous and perfect presentation as always from Hamptons. Glad to hear they taste just as good, definitely not style over substance here!

Leave a Reply

