Blogging in between meals.

A beautiful Bournemouth evening

The downside of being a food blogger solely dedicated to restaurant reviews is that if for any reason you don’t eat out for a few days, you’re suddenly short of material! I’ve found myself in that situation after a very busy weekend in Cardiff where we were out and about – not least at a very windy Fonmon Castle Polo all day on Saturday being hosted by Le Monde (with a very tasty barbecue lunch and lashings of Pimm’s, wine and even vodka and Red Bull for those who wanted it!), but restaurant activities were restricted to a couple of quick late night curries and a relaxed pizza at the Bay on Sunday where I didn’t have the energy to take photographs or commit things to memory!

Normal dining activities will be resumed this weekend in Bournemouth. We have a curry with friends planned at a new (to us!) venue that they’ve recommended, so we’re looking forward to trying that. Sunday will be a belated Father’s Day lunch at one of my favourite country venues in the New Forest where my parents live, and no doubt there will be more eating out on Saturday (possibly at The Print Room, where they’ll be showing Wimbledon on the big screen), so I’ll have plenty of material for next week!

Having spent quite a bit of time in the past couple of months since starting my blog discovering what’s out there in the food blogsphere, being particularly inspired by my friend Helen who runs Fuss Free Flavours, I’m toying with the idea of widening the scope of my blog to include non-restaurant focused food experiences. I’d love to get involved in some of the challenges that take place amongst bloggers, and perhaps review some products at home, but at the moment, I’m a bit time-short, so I wouldn’t be able to do justice to home cooking as I’d like to. Longer-term life plans, however, include an awful lot more time spent in the kitchen (and hopefully a bit less in the car or on trains!) – and hopefully I shall be honing my skills at the same time as trying out some of the recipes in my ever-growing favourites, so do watch this space! I’m also hoping to ‘pretty up’ my blog at some stage. Eating and writing come naturally; fiddling around with WordPress in my spare time doesn’t, so – for now at least – please pardon my appearance!

If you’ve got any thoughts on what else you’d like to see me blogging about – or restaurants you think I should try, then please do leave a comment, I’d love to hear from you.

In the meantime, I thought I’d share a couple of photos taken whilst out running last night (I wasn’t actually running when they were taken – I’d stopped for a little break!) In three weeks’ time, I’ll be off on the QM2 for a week’s cruise to the Norwegian Fjords. I’m convinced this will be a food-lovers’ heaven, as I’ve heard great things about the dining opportunities on the ship – not to mention the delicacies that Norway has to offer. I also love dressing up for dinner, so I will be in my element. Not so heavenly is the prospect of having to fit in to some of my slinkier dresses towards the end of a week of wall to wall food, 24 hours a day, should I desire it. In the interest of having a bit of a ‘buffer zone’, I’m on a mission to get back into running. And with views like this practically on my doorstep, it makes the pain almost bearable! Bring on the afternoon tea…

 

This makes running worthwhile!

 

4 responses to “Blogging in between meals.

  1. looks excellant – I also enjoy eating out in restaurants, i however take a fairly harsh critical approach to restaurant eating – I would love (if you dont mind) to contribute the odd review…..
    Livi xx

    • Absolutely! Once I get enough of my own reviews on here (it’s a work in progress!) I’ll be looking for some guest posters, so will let you know! I wonder if you agree with my review of the Park Plaza!!!

  2. Thank you for your kind words.

    The beauty of blogging is that you can do exactly as you want to. Blog, not blog, comment, review or ponder. It works differently for each person and it would be very boring if we were all the same.

    Johanna at Green Gourmet Giraffe had some great blog musings a month or so ago.

Leave a Reply

